A simple art activity for 1 and 2-year-olds

In my previous post, I wrote about why your toddler should not watch TV or play with handheld devices.  Here is a “no TV, no gadget” activity that you can do together with your child. This simple activity can help develop your child’s focus and skills particularly listening, responding and fine-motor skills.

Your toddler is ready to start learning about colors and the best way to do it is to let him use a material that highlights the specific color you want to teach.  For this activity, I was teaching my 1-year-old nephew the color RED.

Here are the materials we used.  My nephew is using these for the first time so I chose to keep it simple.

Featured image

1. Have your toddler paint the paper plate red.

Featured image

2. Make cut-out leaves from the green construction paper and a stem from the brown one.  Assist your toddler in pasting the leaves and stem on  the paper plate.  Cut out the sides of the paper plate to form an apple. This is how the finished art work looks like.

Featured image

This is my nephew’s first art work. Not bad for a first-timer right? You can do this at home with your child too! It’s easy, simple, yet a good way to spend quality time together.

Featured image

Leave a comment